Thoughts on currently airing anime – Fall 2014

UntitledThis is my first post actually about anime.

Recently I’ve found I have a lot of free time so I’ve been able to watch most shows from each season without too much effort. Looking back, I’m noticing that most of the shows are rather mediocre. I’ll just write a paragraph on a few shows that have kept me interested over the last few months.

Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works: This was always going to be one of my favourite anime from this year. I consider myself a Type-Moon fan, and although I haven’t finished as much of their stuff as I would have liked, I’m working on it when I have time. I didn’t know what to expect from this initially, but considering how much I enjoyed Fate/Zero and Kara no Kyoukai, I was hoping it would be pretty good.

It didn’t disappoint. Every time I finish watching an episode, I sit there wondering what to do, because just don’t feel like doing anything else. The best part about this show, is comparing it to the visual novel each week. I only finished the visual novel a few weeks before the anime started airing so it was pretty fresh in my mind. Everything so far has been really well adapted and any slight changes the anime has added fit so well, so no complaints there. Also the animation quality is amazing.

Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu: Went into this show with no real expectations, still not sure exactly where it’s going, but each week leaves me wanting the next episode. I’m not really a fan of dubstep as music in general, but for some reason I don’t mind it when it gets put into anime. Dubstep died down though after the first few episodes. I’m enjoying the themes from this show, and seeing the contrast between Migi and Shinichi’s thought processes is pretty interesting.

Shirobako: Glad to see P.A. Works making another good show since Glasslip was rather disappointing, (still haven’t been motivated to finish watching Glasslip yet). Very interesting show, I never really knew alot of information about the process of making anime, so this is all very new and interesting to me. It’s pretty obvious when you think about it, but making anime takes a lot of work, and it’s very interesting seeing exactly how the process works.

Untitled

Sword Art Online II: I actually enjoyed the first season. Besides the fact I can’t stand Asuna as a character and the other various flaws. I have read the first 14 volumes of the light novel series, and enjoyed them for the most part. Unfortunately season 2 drags out the Phantom Bullet arc and it comes across quite boring. They changed Shino’s backstory, so it doesn’t really make as much sense as it did in the novel. About 3 episodes in I realised that the Phantom Bullet arc wasn’t well suited to being animated with all the long dialog scenes and everything. I stuck with it though, since I was watching it with a few real life friends.

I honestly think the recap episode was more than enough to cover the first arc. Thankfully everything after that has been much more enjoyable to watch. I still hope we get a third season though, since Alicization was by far my favourite arc from the light novels.

Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo: For some reason I seem to like sunrise’s trainwreck shows. I enjoyed Valvrave more than I think i should have, and Cross Ange has kept me interested so far. I think its getting better each episode as well.

I’m also enjoying Inou Battle. I’ve always enjoyed chuunibyou shows and Inou Battle turned out better than i thought it would. Yuuko Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru also looks good, but I’ve only seen the first 3 episodes so I can’t really comment on it yet.

I’ll also put a link to my MAL account here in case anyone is interested. I’m not completely happy with my ratings for everything but it takes too long to go through everything. Feel free to ask me why I gave a particular score to a show or recommend me stuff to watch.

About FabledHunter

Novice Anime Blogger. ask.fm/AnimeAtaraxia

Posted on December 21, 2014, in Anime, Reviews and Impressions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I still have to catch up with Fate/an UBW, though seeing the very high rating in MAL makes me somewhat skeptical towards the show.

    Also, congratulations on your first post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Imo shows with super high MAL ratings tend to be pretty enjoyable even if they’re not usually the greatest. At the very least, they’re rarely ever terrible.

      Can’t really comment on UBW itself, though, since I only ever watched the prologue episode. Never got round to the main gig.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Many of my top favorites are top-rated shows in MAL. It’s just that I was thinking, maybe the high rating of UBW is mainly from the overzealous fans (Thinking back, not everyone who’s watching it is a fan of the franchise; I guess I worried for nothing?). I hope it’s not. It’s reassuring to hear from a lot of people that it’s pretty good (or great, rather), though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’d definitely recommend watching UBW if you can find time for it, but it might be better to wait until everything has finished airing. Its better suited to watching all in one go rather than weekly imo.

        UBW and Heaven’s Feel are much better routes than Fate plotwise, they do use alot of assumed knowledge from the Fate route, (which was pretty much a massive infodump). Studio Deen’s adaption of the Fate route was pretty bad by anyone’s standards. It was a combination of both Fate and UBW with some unnecessary(bad) anime original content added in. Also i don’t think they managed to portray the characters properly.

        Maybe watch Fate/Zero if you want to give the Fate franchise another chance? My first experience with the Fate franchise was Studio Deen’s adaption and it left me wondering why it was so popular. I watched Fate/Zero soon after that and everything made so much more sense.

        Like

Leave a Reply

