Expectations for Winter 2015 (Part 1)

durarara1

New season of anime is starting. According to anichart there are 28 full-length shows starting sometime during the next month. Since I either have low standards or too much free time (or both) I will naturally be watching almost all of them without dropping any shows I start. I will write a few words on what I expect from each of the shows I am watching as well as what rating I think I will give them and come back at the end of the season and compare the scores then.

There will be two parts so the post doesn’t get too long. I’ll just cover sequels in part 1 and do everything else in part 2. Link to part 2 here.

Shows I won’t be watching:

This years Precure show – I may have a lot of free time, but watching all the previous Precure shows would take a really long time. Maybe someday though.

Shounen Hollywood: Holly Stage for 50 – Didn’t watch season 1 since it didn’t look like it would interest me.

Shows I might watch: 

Kamisama Hajimemashite◎ and Soukyuu no Fafner: Dead Aggressor – Exodus – I’ll have to look at the previous season of both of these shows to see if I want to watch it. If anyone has seen either please leave a comment saying whether you would recommend it or not.

Shows I will be watching:

Aldnoah.Zero 2 – Whatever you may say about the writing of this show it is definitely a fun show to watch. Looking forward to the reactions on anitwitter.

Estimated score: 8/10

Dog Days” – Another fun show. Lots of cute girls – especially Eclair.

Estimated score: 7/10

Durarara!!x2 Shou – I really enjoyed season 1 and Izaya is one of my favourite characters. I recently heard the second half of season 1 deviated from the light novels in a bad way. I’ve read the first volume but I’m thinking I should check whether there’s an English translation for subsequent volumes so I can compare them myself.

Estimated score: 9/10

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken: Stardust Crusaders 2 – Continuation of Stardust Crusaders. Wasn’t as interesting as Part 2 in my opinion. One day I will get around to reading the manga.

Estimated score: 7/10

Kuroko no Basket 3 – Probably one of the first sports anime I watched. I really enjoy this show, maybe it will finish the story since the manga has finished now.

Estimated score: 8/10

Tantei Opera Milky Holmes TD – I found the first two seasons much funnier than I thought I would. I was disappointed by how Futari wa Milky Holmes turned out but it was still pretty decent for 10 minutes episodes. I’m hoping this will be more like the first two seasons.

Estimated score: 7/10

Tokyo Ghoul √A – Watched this show with a friend and we both liked it. I’ve read some of the manga and got to compare both versions, there’s a decent amount of changes. Looking forward to seeing how this ends.

Estimated score: 8/10

That’s it for part 1. Part 2 will be much more interesting to compare at the end of the season since I have very little information on most of the shows so I will likely be very wrong when estimating scores. I’ll probably put up part 2 either tomorrow or the next day.

About FabledHunter

Novice Anime Blogger. ask.fm/AnimeAtaraxia

Posted on January 2, 2015, in Anime, Seasonal Preview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Whatever you may say about the writing of this show it is definitely a fun show to watch. Looking forward to the reactions on anitwitter.

    Sounds to me like anitwitter reactions are what made the series (or will make the sequel) fun to watch. Personally, it wasn’t entertaining to watch, though the premise was promising. Honestly though, I might watch this because of anitwitter reactions, too.

    Re: Kuroko no Basket, it’s highly likely that the third season will cover the rest of the manga. Which reminds me, I should really get to reading the rest of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

