Top 10 Anime of 2014

Decided to make a best of 2014 post since I didn’t do one. Also the post I’ve been meaning to finish is far from being ready. I decided to include any shows that finished airing in 2014. I just wrote a short paragraph on each show so don’t expect too much, it’s basically just a ranking list and nothing much else.

10. Barakamon

Was going to put Gin no Saji S2 in this slot, but I found I couldn’t actually remember much of what happened in it. I have mixed feelings about Barakamon, I found myself not liking a lot of the characters, so some particular parts were slightly uninteresting to me, but overall it was a relaxing show to watch. I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would.

9. Love Live! S2

Idol shows are generally fun to watch. Love Live remained consistently good throughout both seasons. It helped that all the characters had been introduced as they joined the idol group during season 1, letting them skip the introductions and focus more on other stuff in season 2. The characters are probably the best thing about this show, their relatively unique personalities stand out and they interact with each other well.

8. Nobunaga the Fool

A cross between a mecha show and the Sengoku period is something I hadn’t seen before. I didn’t watch this when it aired so I got to marathon it when I got round to it. Every episode left me wanting more and I didn’t really lose interest at any point. The whole tarot card aspect corresponding to each episode was also interesting.

7. Tokyo Ghoul

I’ve always liked these types of shows, ended up being a fun show to watch with friends. The first and last episodes were particularly good. It motivated me to read the manga and I read a bit further than where the first season ended. There were a few things that where changed from the manga, some good, some bad.

6. Nagi no Asukara

The visuals in this anime are pretty amazing. I ended up really enjoying this show, especially during the second half. This is probably one of my favourite shows from P.A. Works.

5. No Game No Life

I’ve been playing games for as long as I can remember, and this show really highlights the fun parts of gaming. Sora is a funny character with an interesting personality and way of thinking, the way he solves problems with his sister is always entertaining. I don’t think we will get a second season, which is unfortunate because it was a really fun show to watch.

4. Saki: Zenkoku-hen

Saki is one of my favourite series of all time, it makes mahjong look fun and one day I plan to learn how to play. Zenkoku-hen continues off where the first season ended, unfortunately it doesn’t have a proper ending so I’m gonna have to wait for another season to find out what happens next.

3. Kill la Kill

Pretty fun show to watch, great soundtrack, and really easy to enjoy.

2. Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya 2wei!

I really enjoyed watching this show, it was nice to see some more Fate/hollow Ataraxia characters appear. I may have scored this show pretty high, but I can’t see other people liking it unless they are a fan of Type-moon, (or loli shows I guess). Looking forward to shota Gilgamesh in the next season.

1. Hunter x Hunter

I have a lot of good memories watching this show. Its the only long running shounen show that I started watching from the first episode when it aired. It’s unfortunate that it had to end, since the whole thing just feels like a big prologue.

Well I already know my taste in anime is bad, looking on this list there are a few shows that surprised me. I hope I didn’t miss any shows that should have been on this list, (I probably did though). Other shows I plan to watch from last year are Nobunagun, Noragami, Witch Craft Works and Mikakunin de Shinkoukei, so hopefully they end up being good.

This year didn’t feel so bad to me, but that’s most likely because I also watched a lot of good older stuff as well as new anime. Looking at all the upcoming stuff over 2015, it looks like it’s going to be a good year.

About FabledHunter

Novice Anime Blogger. ask.fm/AnimeAtaraxia

Posted on January 12, 2015, in Anime, Rankings, Reviews and Impressions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Interesting list; some shows here I didn’t see in other people’s lists–like Love Live 2, Fate/kaleid, Saki, and especially Nobunaga the Fool.

    Also, I should’ve seen it coming, that you will rank Fate/kaleid that high because you’re a big TYPE-MOON fanboy that even spin-offs will receive much praise. Surprise. I enjoyed Fate/kaleid more than Fate/sn UBW.

    Like

    • Yeah i’m not sure how many people have even seen Saki, it has a decent amount of fanservice which probably puts people off. I think Saki: Achiga-hen – Episode of Side-A was the best so far, it tones down the fanservice and focuses more on the mahjong games.

      Like

Leave a Reply

