Visual novel review: Utawarerumono

0011

You may have noticed that this is the third review in three days. If they seem rushed, that’s probably because they were, Princess Evangile came out and I had wanted to be caught up in visual novel reviews before I started it so I quickly wrote these three reviews in the time it took for Princess Evangile to download.

At least I’m caught up now though, by the time this review is scheduled to be posted I will have likely almost finished Princess Evangile, so my review for that will be out soon.

Utawarerumono starts off with Hakuoro, the main character, waking up in a small village with a irremovable mask and no memories of his past. The villagers soon accept him as one of their own as he helps out around the village. After various events happen, Hakuoro ends up leading the village into war to overthrow the current corrupt emperor.

Utawarerumono is a strategy rpg, there is actually a decent amount of gameplay as Hakuoro leads his ever-increasing army against new foes. Most characters are capable of combat, using them in combat will give them experience so you can level them up. There are four difficulties available from the start, I initially started off by picking the hardest one, but soon changed my mind and restarted from Hard 1 difficultly.

u-sp

The gameplay at the start didn’t interest me very much, but as I continued, it actually turned out to be pretty fun. The playable characters skills and stat compositions are varied so you are free to play with any playstyle you feel like. The game has a unique feature where experience gained in battle is retained even after failure. (I assume it isn’t a very common feature, I haven’t seen it before, but I haven’t actually played very many rpgs.) So even if a level seems impossible, multiple retries will eventually cause results, even if you can’t be bothered thinking up a new strategy.

The story itself is pretty interesting in itself, it isn’t without its faults and doesn’t have much depth to it, but it’s engaging and keeps you wanting to keep playing until the end.

Overall impressions

Ok I don’t think I’ve written enough for this review but I can’t really think of much else to say. I probably shouldn’t have been picking up more visual novels as an excuse to stall writing reviews, but I ended up really enjoying Utawarerumono. If anyone wants a visual novel with jbfQ2dtDvd59v0srpg gameplay in it, I’d recommend trying it out. The gameplay is pretty simple, but is still really enjoyable, especially considering the game was first released in 2002.

I downloaded the anime version and I’m looking forward to see whether it will live up to my expectations. I might write something about it later if there is something worth mentioning, I do need to remember this was meant to be primarily an anime blog.

There is also a sequel being made currently, I doubt there will be a English translated version for a long time, but it will be something I will be looking out for. Maybe I’ll check it out when I learn Japanese properly.

Positives:

  • Engaging story
  • Gameplay doesn’t distract from the story
  • Interesting characters

Negatives:

  • Some of the character relationships lack depth
  • Felt like it was too short

00210019

About FabledHunter

Novice Anime Blogger. ask.fm/AnimeAtaraxia

Posted on March 30, 2015, in Reviews and Impressions, Visual Novels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. If you do check out the anime, I would be interested to hear your thoughts about it.

    Like

  2. I don’t know if you’ve played it, but on the topic of visual novels with SRPG elements, Kamidori Alchemy Meister was pretty damn fun (once you get past all the H-scenes :P)

    Like

    • I actually started Kamidori some time ago, but for some reason I ended up putting it on hold. I was only like 8-10 hours in but it was pretty fun, I should probably get back to that game sometime. Thanks for the reminder!

      Like

      • Doesn’t Utawarerumono has a lot of H-scenes too? Or maybe it’s the version I’m playing, lol.

        And yes, story-wise, Kamidori was pretty forgettable, but as a game (ironically), Kamidori’s pretty damn fun!

        Like

  3. I also quite liked Utawarerumono. The hub-style storytelling isn’t something that appeals to me but you’re right in saying that the story is engaging and I was more or less interested from start to finish. I also have yet to check out the anime but plan to do so in the near future.

    As for the battles…well, I didn’t even figure out that I could keep clicking to perform combo attacks until half way through the game, so they can’t have been all that bad. The gameplay is a very basic tactics formula, so some people may be turned off by the lack of complexity, but it didn’t require grinding in my experience so I was happy ^_^

    Like

  4. Hey! I am on the lookout for Manga & Anime bloggers and stumbled on this blog. I could not find your email here, could you kindly send me an e-mail: alysonburston[at]live.com — It’s regarding writing about Anime/Manga type of offer. This isn’t spam by the way. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

