12 Days of Visual Novel Reviews – Day 6: Moon.

FG081

Many people probably don’t know this, but Maeda Jun and Hisaya Naoki actually wrote 2 visual novels together for a company called Tactics, before Key was founded. Hinoue Itaru was also the artist for both games.

So I don’t know if I mentioned it before but Key is one of the companies which I have decided read read everything they have made. (But then again it isn’t hard to make myself do something like this. Once I’ve read a few titles from the same person I think that I may as well finish them all since it shouldn’t take too much extra time.) So, since I had finished watching every Key anime as well as read every translated Key visual novel I decided it was time to read what started it all.

Since I haven’t reviewed most Key visual novels yet most people probably can’t tell that I’m not really a Key fan. I did enjoy a selected few titles a lot, but for the most part I find them average at best. Hisaya Naoki in particular has yet to convince me that anything he writes will be interesting. I haven’t seen Sola yet, but his more recent anime adaption Sora no Method didn’t really leave me very impressed with the story (although it did have some really good animation and it looked very impressive visually). I also didn’t enjoy Kanon very much so coming into reading Moon. I didn’t really have high expectations.

Moon. is very different from what you would expect from the writers of Key stuff. It starts with the protagonist, Amasawa Ikumi infiltrating a religious organisation because she suspects that they might have something to do with the death of her mother. When she is tested after entering the place she discovers that she actually has an aptitude for the psychic powers that they are teaching and gets moved to the best area.

Ikumi then has to balance lessons with sneaking out to search the premises for clues about her mother. She soon finds out that the other girls which entered with her were much worse off than her, with very poor treatment including being made to have sex with the male guards periodically as part of ‘training’.

FG092

Overall Impressions

Honestly Moon. isn’t really that bad. The contrast from the writers’ usual genres was pretty interesting and the game managed to keep my interest until I finished it. However I was unable to give it a very good score, because looking back over everything after I finished it, I couldn’t really figure out the point of it at all.

Because of how dated it is I can’t really recommend Moon. to anyone unless they want to read it for the same reasons I did, to read the previous works of Key members. Keep in mind though that it does contain some crazy h-scenes that you wouldn’t expect from Key writers.

Positives:

  • Voiced protagonist.
  • Crazy setting that somehow kept me interested despite not being very good.

Negatives:

  • No skip feature.
  • In retrospect its hard to see what the actual point of it all was.

FG068FG037

About FabledHunter

Novice Anime Blogger. ask.fm/AnimeAtaraxia

Posted on December 19, 2015, in Reviews and Impressions, Visual Novels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I do find that with older VNs the “point” of it all can be elusive. The writing styles of visual novel authors have evolved over time in a good way, thankfully. Either way, I don’t think i’ll be picking up Moon >.<

    Like

  2. Hi, good review, I just would add I think the point could be found if one have watched the movies Ringu or Carrie, I mean, the cause(the visual novel wants to explain) may be in the people who suffer a lot develop mental powers. And the skip feature is hidden, but there is(CTRL if pressed)

    Like

Leave a Reply

