One Year Anniversary

c7b4e3bd8ec844690f58b00032b3d871

This is just a short post which announces that this blog has existed for a year.

When I made this blog on a whim I had no idea how long I would stick with it or even what content I wanted to write. Admittedly I did go six months without writing a single post at one point so it doesn’t really feel like a year of blogging.

When it comes to actually writing posts, it can be very difficult for me to get motivated some of the time. It depends on my mood, but in general its a thing which I like doing, but I’d literally rather do almost anything else. My thought process goes something like this: ‘why would I want to sit down to write something for a few hours when I can watch an entire 1-cour anime series in the same amount of time?’

You may then ask me why I still continue to blog if I place more value in spending the time doing something else. It comes back to part of the reason I made the blog in the first place, I need to improve my writing. There’s also the fact that I do enjoy talking about my favourite Japanese media, so the blog serves as a good place for me to vent.

I originally intended the blog to be primarily an anime blog, but somewhere along the line it had developed into a visual novel blog without me noticing. This may be partly because finding pictures for a post can sometimes be quite difficult, but its easy for visual novels since all you have to do is look up a cg gallery and pick the most relevant pictures (as opposed to skipping through episode after episode to find something).

The main reason though is that I really got into visual novels this year. To put it into perspective, I had only 12 completed entries on vndb before I made the blog… now I have 72.

That doesn’t mean I’ll only write about visual novels. I still want to write about anime too, just that it will happen less often. At some point I also plan to do light novel and manga spotlights for titles that really click for me, but I never seem to find time for LNs/manga so it might take a while.

On an unrelated note, go check out http://openings.moe/ if you haven’t already. It plays random anime openings and endings and I’ve had it set to cycle though them on my second monitor the whole time I’ve been writing this.

Anyway, that’s all for this post, thanks for reading. I don’t know how long I will continue to blog, but I should still be here for a while.

About FabledHunter

Novice Anime Blogger. ask.fm/AnimeAtaraxia

Posted on December 20, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Damn it, that Openings.moe site is such an addictive timewaster! Curse you, FabledHunter!

    But on a serious note, congrats for a year of blogging. I won’t deny that your posts about visual novels have helped me become more interested in visual novels myself. I have fun reading your posts :)

    Like

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoy some of my posts.

      I think I’ve written more posts on visual novels that I either didn’t like much or felt neutral towards than actual visual novels I really enjoyed. So at some point I want to make a general visual novel recommendations post where I can list stuff I think is genuinely good so I can guide people to it. Maybe you’ll be able to find something you are interested in from there once I get around to it (not that you really need anymore VNs to play since I think your backlog is quite large at the moment iirc).

      Like

  2. Congrats on your first year (with many more to come)! To be honest I have no complaints about your conversion to a visual novel blog because I find your opinions on them to be valid and you tend to cover a wide range of titles that I haven’t encountered previously.

    Though many VN blogs exist yours is one of the few I frequent, so keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

