12 Days of Visual Novel Reviews – Day 9: Harukoi Otome

0557

Harukoi Otome ~Otome no Sono de Gokigenyou~ was originally released in 2006 by visual novel company BaseSon. The English version got released by MangaGamer in the latter half of 2013.

For people who don’t know, it’s not unusual for visual novel companies to have subsidiary companies that produce different types of games so they can be more specific with the type of content each brand name makes. Nexton is a good example of this, as it has a massive total of 17 subsidiary companies. Now I won’t pretend to know much more about than that, honestly the only things I know about Nexton than that, all I know about it is that two of its subsidiary companies are Tactics (the company that Moon. and One were released under) and BaseSon.

So the main reason I decided to read Harukoi Otome was that I was interested in what BaseSon was like in a game which isn’t Koihime Musou. Granted there isn’t a very big range to choose from because there were only four games released before Koihime Musou (and Harukoi Otome is the only one of those which is translated). Every game BaseSon has released since then has been either another Koihime Musou game or something very similar.

Hayasaka Akihito is the protagonist of Harukoi Otome. The game begins with him starting to attend St. Francesca Academy, a school which has until recently been an all-girls school.

Harukoi Otome isn’t really a bad visual novel, it follows the normal format of visual novels with a common route which branches into a heroine’s route based on what choices you make. If I were to compare it to my most recent reviews of visual novels that I didn’t like much; it has a competently structured story (unlike Da Capo), it’s story overall makes sense with everything being explained satisfactorily (unlike One), and it didn’t leave me feeling that there was no point to it all (unlike Moon.).

Despite all that however, it didn’t manage to convince me that it was a good visual novel either. I didn’t mind the characters for the most part, but somehow I just couldn’t really get attached to it. It wasn’t really that much of a disappointment as I was only expecting something average in the first place, and that’s what I got. But it won’t be something I’ll ever be recommending to anyone because there are better alternatives.

0678

Overall Impressions

Harukoi Otome is a generic visual novel which doesn’t really do anything wrong as such, but unfortunately it didn’t quite manage to have something unique that set it apart from the rest.

As far as testing BaseSon’s older visual novels goes, I’m not really left with much of a positive opinion. I think I’ll just stick with their current style of visual novel since I really do have a soft spot for visual novels with massive amounts of characters. (I think I like the looks of Appare! Tenka Gomen and Sengoku † Koihime ~Otome Kenran ☆ Sengoku Emaki~ more than the other Koihime † Musou games though.)

Positives:

  • Manages to be a decently structured visual novel all things considered (much better than the few I read prior to it anyway).
  • Characters are mostly fine.
  • Honestly it does manage to be a decent story, it may not stand out as anything special, but I can think of much worse things to read.

Negatives:

  • Artstyle is a bit dated, and there was one character in particular that I couldn’t stand the character design for.
  • Somewhat bland experience overall as it never really clicked for me.

01410194

About FabledHunter

Novice Anime Blogger. ask.fm/AnimeAtaraxia

Posted on December 22, 2015, in Reviews and Impressions, Visual Novels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi blogger, i must say you have hi quality articles here.
    Your page can go viral. You need initial traffic only. How
    to get it? Search for; Mertiso’s tips go viral

    Like

Leave a Reply

